Vase with Fifteen Sunflowers- Vincent Van Gogh

I have been anticipating the moment where I get to write about what I believe to be one of the most legendary artists that cease to exist.

That is ladies & gentlemen, Mr. Vincent Van Gogh.

Now I have known about this artist for quite some time but I never really got into the history of his work and life until recently. In an art appreciation course in college, I got to have my eyes opened to the world of art. I learned so much about ancient to modern art and was completely fascinated by it.

Ever since, I have been more interested and engaged in art pieces from many different artists, especially Van Gogh.

I don’t want to sound like your typical newbie art enthusiast but Van Gogh’s work really stood out to me. Van Gogh is one of those artists that first pop into someone’s mind when the subject of art comes along so many would think it’s pretty basic to say he is one of my favorite artists but he is. Therefore, in this post I will be taking you guys on a mini expedition into the history behind the painting “Vase with Fifteen Sunflowers” by Vincent Van Gogh.

 van gogh 1.jpg

This painting is part of a series that Vincent planned out in 1888. The paintings in the series are what Van Gogh is mostly known by. Vincent started this series with much anticipation to his friend and artist Paul Gauguin’s arrival.

Gogh stated in a letter that he wanted to decorate his studio with half a dozen paintings of sunflowers. He wanted the decorations to contain harsh and mellow yellows with various shades of blues.

Later then he planned out a dozen works of sunflowers to place in the Yellow House  that he & Gauguin would use as an art studio. Gogh stated in the letter,

“I’d like to do a decoration for the studio. Nothing but large Sunflowers. Next door to your shop, in the restaurant, as you know, there’s such a beautiful decoration of flowers there; I still remember the big sunflower in the window. Well, if I carry out this plan there’ll be a dozen or so panels. The whole thing will therefore be a symphony in blue and yellow. I work on it all these mornings, from sunrise. Because the flowers wilt quickly and it’s a matter of doing the whole thing in one go.” (letter 666)

Not sure if anyone ever knew the motive behind Vincent’s decision to fill the room with these series of flowers but who’s complaining? These pieces are priceless & utterly beautiful. It shocks me how this painting started to gain more fame and attention only after his death.

In my opinion, the Vase with Fifteen Sunflowers is one of Van Gogh’s best. It gives off the mood that I believe he was trying to bring. The various shades of yellow and the dash of blue really mix well together. When you look at the painting, you see some of the flowers with their petals and some without them making the painting look more realistic rather than having every flower look perfect.

The light yellow backdrop helps the vase with flowers stand out more to the viewer as well as the color switch towards the bottom of the vase. The painting is in fact an oil on canvas and is about 93 x 73 cm. So it would be ideal for any area of space.

To wrap everything up, I recommend you check out Van Gogh’s work and see if you yourself find a piece that captures your attention like this one caught mine. Down below you will find two personal prints that I have of this art piece. One a gift & another a purchase that was inspired by Van Gogh’s piece.

IMG_6205IMG_6206.jpg

Next week I will continue on with yet another art piece with you guys! Thanks for reading!

********PLEASE READ*********

IF ANY OF YOU ARE INTERESTED IN PURCHASING THE SECOND PRINT OR INTERESTED IN SEEING MORE OF THIS AMAZING ARTIST COMMENT DOWN OR CONTACT ME I WILL GLADLY GIVE YOU HIS CONTACT INFO!!!!! 

 

 

2 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Love this art appreciation and I love your content. I’m looking forward to reading your future posts.

    Come visit some time!

    💗, Mena from noirerewritten.com

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks a bunch!
    Means a lot & of course I’ll check it out right now!

    Like

Leave a Reply

